## 4.-Members of the Nineteenth Ministry, as at Apr. 30, 19631

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Note.—A complete list of the members of Federal Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in subsequent editions.

Office	Occupant		ate of ointment
Prime Minister	Hon. Maurice Lamontagne. Hon. John Richard Garland. Hon. Lucien Cardin. Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen. Hon. Jean-Paul Deschatelets. Hon. Hédard Robichaud. Hon. J. Watson MacNaught. Hon. Roger Teillet. Hon. Judy Lamarsh. Hon. Charles Mills Drury.	Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr. Apr.	22, 196; 22, 196;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Any changes occurring between Apr. 30, 1963 and the date of going to press will be carried in an Appendix to this volume.

Parliamentary Secretaries.—As provided by the Parliamentary Secretaries Act (SC 1959, c. 15), assented to June 4, 1959, 15 Parliamentary Secretaries were appointed (one on Aug. 20, 1959 and 14 on Nov. 18, 1959) from among the Members of the House of Commons to assist the respective Ministers in such manner as each Minister may direct. In so doing, the Government revived the system of parliamentary assistantships in practice during the war and postwar years subsequent to 1943, whereby Cabinet Ministers might receive assistance in the performance of their parliamentary functions and promising Members of the House might secure a degree of apprenticeship for higher public office. Parliamentary Secretaries hold office for 12 months.

On May 14, 1963, His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Prime Minister, announced the appointment of the following:—

ALEXIS CARON Prime Minister  JOHN DAVIS. Prime Minister  DONALD S. MACDONALD Justice  JOHN B. STEWART External Affairs  YVON DUPUIS Secretary of State  EDGAR J. BENSON Finance  JEAN-LUC PEPIN Trade and Commerce  G. ROY McWilliam Postmaster General  JEAN-CHARLES CANTIN Transport  JOHN N. TURNER Northern Affairs and National Resources  JAMES A. BYRNE Labour  HUBERT BADANAI Public Works  CHESLEY W. CARTER Veterans Affairs  STANLEY HAIDASZ (DR.) National Health and Welfare  JOHN C. MUNRO. Citizenship and Immigration  Agriculture  Minister without Portfolio	Secretary	Minister
	John Davis. Donald S. Macdonald. John B. Stewart. Yvon Dupuis. Edgar J. Benson. Jean-Luc Pepin. G. Roy McWilliam. Jean-Charles Cantin. John N. Turner. James A. Byrne. Hubert Badanai. Chesley W. Carter. Stanley Haidasz (Dr.). John C. Munro.	Prime Minister Justice External Affairs Secretary of State Finance Trade and Commerce Postmaster General Transport Northern Affairs and National Resources Labour Public Works Veterans Affairs National Health and Welfare Citizenship and Immigration Agriculture